Board index

PCGen

IT IS ALIVE!!!

[5e] Homebrew - Custom Racial Traits Not Applying

Where users making their own LST files can ask "How-To" support questions

Moderator: Nylanfs

Forum rules
This is only to post HOW-TO Questions in relation to your own personal data sets. This is not where bugs are reported, please use the Main Group for Bugs or issues.

[5e] Homebrew - Custom Racial Traits Not Applying

Postby Bananamous » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:26 am

First, please bear with me to some degree. I'm new to PC Gen, and I've only been digging through the files for a few hours so far. I'd try for longer before asking for help, but my schedule is pretty busy, so asking some people who are more informed is way more feasible than hoping I figure this out. :roll: Sorry in advance for my ignorance.

My problem: I added a race, Merfolk. It shows up in PCgen fine, and so do its ability modifiers. Then, I tried adding a few racial traits. Those don't appear to be working at all. I also can't figure out how to add standard ages to the race.

Desired Traits:
Merfolk:
+2 INT, +2 DEX, +3 DEX/underwater
Weapon Prof: Short Sword, Dagger, Spear, Trident, Short Bow, Long Bow, Net.
Racial Traits: Trance, Stealthy, Extra Language, Cantrip.
Starting Language: Merfolk, Common

Here are some snippets to show how I attempted this:
\PCGen\PCGen60601\data\5e\wizards_of_the_coast\srd5\srd5_races.lst
Code: Select all
Merfolk    SORTKEY:Base_PC   SIZE:M   MOVE:Walk,30, Swim,60   BONUS:STAT|INT|2   BONUS:STAT|DEX|2   ABILITY:Internal|AUTOMATIC|Racial Trait ~ Merfolk   LEGS:2   HANDS:2   TAIL:1 RACETYPE:Humanoid   RACESUBTYPE:Merfolk   TYPE:Humanoid.PC   SOURCEPAGE:p.

\PCGen\PCGen60601\data\5e\wizards_of_the_coast\srd5\srd5_abilities_race.lst