Board index

PCGen


IT IS ALIVE!!!

How to access Race Builder

Where new users can post questions about PCGen, or report possible issues (bug tracking is by Jira - jira.pcgen.org)

How to access Race Builder

Postby Psyga315 » Mon Sep 29, 2014 3:43 pm

So, I downloaded the new PCGen, and I was told that, among the updates, "Implement Race Builder" was in it. So I wanna ask how I can access it, if I can access it. I think selecting Race is one of the steps...
User avatar
Psyga315
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 3:39 pm

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby LegacyKing » Mon Sep 29, 2014 5:44 pm

Hi,

Tab 'Feats & Abilities' - Subtab 'Misc' - Add the ability 'Use Advanced Race Guide Race Builder System'

The rest of the items will pop up and allow you to build the race within the confines we can support. 'Race' is the blank template so you have something to work with.

Cheers,


Andrew Maitland
PCGen Content SB
- Data Chimp
- Quicksilver Tracker Monkey
User avatar
LegacyKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:35 pm
Location: California, US

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby Nylanfs » Mon Sep 29, 2014 7:56 pm

I wonder if the race could be renamed to Race Builder, and have it automatically apply the ability? What do you think Andrew.


Paul "Yes that Paul" Grosse
PCGen BoD - PR Silverback
ICQ: 14397299
Forums: Nylan (or Nylanfs)
User avatar
Nylanfs
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 6:06 pm
Location: Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Top

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby Psyga315 » Mon Sep 29, 2014 8:22 pm

LegacyKing wrote:Hi,

Tab 'Feats & Abilities' - Subtab 'Misc' - Add the ability 'Use Advanced Race Guide Race Builder System'

The rest of the items will pop up and allow you to build the race within the confines we can support. 'Race' is the blank template so you have something to work with.

Cheers,

Thanks. :D
User avatar
Psyga315
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 3:39 pm
Top

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby LegacyKing » Mon Sep 29, 2014 9:35 pm

Paul - it's definitely a viable solution.

I might look into implementing it next week when my break ends.


Andrew Maitland
PCGen Content SB
- Data Chimp
- Quicksilver Tracker Monkey
User avatar
LegacyKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:35 pm
Location: California, US
Top

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby pcofhod » Mon Oct 20, 2014 8:36 am

LegacyKing wrote:Hi,

Tab 'Feats & Abilities' - Subtab 'Misc' - Add the ability 'Use Advanced Race Guide Race Builder System'

The rest of the items will pop up and allow you to build the race within the confines we can support. 'Race' is the blank template so you have something to work with.

Cheers,



I found some race variants here, but not anything resembling the Advanced Race Guide Race Builder System. Maybe I'm just doing something wrong. How, exactly, do you add the ability Use Advanced Race Guide Race Builder System? If this is as cool as it sounds, I'd love to use it, but I have no idea how to add something, or anything like that. Any help would be appreciated.
User avatar
pcofhod
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:51 am
Top

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby Nylanfs » Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:17 pm

When you apply the ARG builder under the optional rules there's a tab that pops up right next to the Misc called "Race Builder Design" In there is where you build your race.
Attachments
Race_builder.png
Race Builder screenshot
Race_builder.png (100.2 KiB) Viewed 4410 times


Paul "Yes that Paul" Grosse
PCGen BoD - PR Silverback
ICQ: 14397299
Forums: Nylan (or Nylanfs)
User avatar
Nylanfs
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 6:06 pm
Location: Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Top

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby LegacyKing » Mon Oct 20, 2014 8:20 pm

Pretty Screenshots!

Oh, Race is now displayed as 'Race Builder' and will implement the Rules for Race Building automatically. As requested.

Cheers,


Andrew Maitland
PCGen Content SB
- Data Chimp
- Quicksilver Tracker Monkey
User avatar
LegacyKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:35 pm
Location: California, US
Top

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby Meddling Monk » Tue Oct 21, 2014 10:33 pm

Nylanfs wrote:When you apply the ARG builder under the optional rules there's a tab that pops up right next to the Misc called "Race Builder Design" In there is where you build your race.


I'm getting the message "You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post." when I read the quoted message. Is there something wrong with the default forum permissions?

Edit: Can see the attached image now, thanks!
Last edited by Meddling Monk on Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Meddling Monk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:39 pm
Top

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby Nylanfs » Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:18 pm

Hmm you don't see a screenshot of the abilities tab?


Paul "Yes that Paul" Grosse
PCGen BoD - PR Silverback
ICQ: 14397299
Forums: Nylan (or Nylanfs)
User avatar
Nylanfs
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 6:06 pm
Location: Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Top

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby Nylanfs » Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:18 pm

It also could be because you were still a moderated acct.


Paul "Yes that Paul" Grosse
PCGen BoD - PR Silverback
ICQ: 14397299
Forums: Nylan (or Nylanfs)
User avatar
Nylanfs
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 6:06 pm
Location: Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Top

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby LegacyKing » Wed Oct 22, 2014 6:33 am

Yes, I believe the lack of attachment viewing is the "Can't download" restriction. As I see no reason to have that imposed, I disabled it. Should fix the issue. If not, let me know.

Cheers,


Andrew Maitland
PCGen Content SB
- Data Chimp
- Quicksilver Tracker Monkey
User avatar
LegacyKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:35 pm
Location: California, US
Top

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby DJBlayde » Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:49 pm

Since we're discussing the Race Builder, would there be a possibility of adding a way to actually name the Race after it's built? Or if there already is one, can you explain how? It's not a major issue, but for aesthetics, if I want to add, say, a Kinder race, I'd prefer my printed sheet say "Kinder" in the race instead of "Race" or "Race Builder".
User avatar
DJBlayde
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:46 am
Top

Re: How to access Race Builder

Postby LegacyKing » Thu Oct 23, 2014 2:13 pm

Possible today? No.

Open a JIRA.


Andrew Maitland
PCGen Content SB
- Data Chimp
- Quicksilver Tracker Monkey
User avatar
LegacyKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:35 pm
Location: California, US
Top


Return to Questions & Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron